Published: Wed, November 15, 2017
Sport | By Wilson Duncan

World Rugby Council to announce hosts of the 2023 Rugby World Cup

World Rugby Council to announce hosts of the 2023 Rugby World Cup

World Rugby responded to Ireland's concerns with a statement, which read: "World Rugby can confirm that it has addressed in full, clarification requests by the Rugby World Cup 2023 host candidates and council members".

In the unlikely event that the vote is a tie three ways, then South Africa will automatically go to the second round, and World Rugby president Bill Beaumont will have to eliminate either Ireland or France.

Based on five weighted criteria, South Africa scored 78.97 percent, France 75.88, and Ireland 72.25.

The second round saw France claim 24 votes to South Africa's 15 to be named hosts for a second time, after 2007.

World Rugby, which is voting on the hosts tomorrow, has admitted that the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) was not contacted to ask why it had taken the action against Durban in March.

South Africa vice-president Cyril Ramaphosa, one of the architects of the relatively peaceful transition from apartheid, said a 2023 World Cup in the country would serve as affirmation of much of what the late Mandela stood for.

The three candidate nations will not receive a vote.

World Rugby publicly acknowledged receipt of that behind-the scenes letter on Friday, in order to consider the matter closed.

They said the bid had been assessed "unreasonably".

There are 39 votes, with 20 being enough to win.

World Rugby's technical review group had found South Africa's bid for the world cup to be the strongest.

Like this: