Published: Fri, December 08, 2017
Finance | By Loren Pratt

Baker Mayfield wins Davey O'Brien

Baker Mayfield wins Davey O'Brien

The Sooners' QB threw for 4,340 yards this season to go with 41 touchdowns and just five interceptions.

Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield won the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the best quarterback, on Thursday night to open this year's college football awards.

He beat out JT Barrett from Ohio State and Oklahoma State's Mason Rudolph for the Davey O'Brien Award and the Walter Camp Award is given to the AP's player of the year. That's a completion percentage of 71 percent and he's averaging almost 12 yards per pass attempt.

Mayfield wasn't the only two-time award victor Thursday night. The last Oklahoma quarterback to win Davey O'Brien was Sam Bradford back in 2008 - he also won the Heisman.

Love would win the Doak Walker, which is given to the nation's top running back, beating out Barkley and Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor. Alabama cornerback Minkah Fitzpatrick won the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the best defensive back, and followed it up with the Bednarik Award, which is given to the best overall defensive player. NC State defensive end Bradley Chubb won the Bronko Nagurski Award for top defensive player, an award voted on by the Football Writers Association of America.

The Big 12 enjoyed a solid awards night, as Oklahoma State's James Washington won the Biletnikoff Award that is given to the nation's top wide receiver and Texas' Michael Dickson won the Ray Guy Award (nation's top punter).

Like this: