Published: Mon, December 18, 2017
Sport | By Wilson Duncan

CAF Awards: Victor Moses out of final three-man shortlist

CAF Awards: Victor Moses out of final three-man shortlist

According to reports, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) have unveiled Liverpool FC and Egypt's Mohamed Salah; Liverpool FC and Senegal's Sadio Mane, and Borussia Dortmund and Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang as the three finalists for this year's African Player of the Year award, with the victor set to be announced at a ceremony in Accra, Ghana on January 4, 2018.

The list includes Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and B. Dortmund), Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool) and Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool).

Salah has been a superb signing for Liverpool after a stellar campaign in the Serie A with Roma last season.

Salah has made an excellent start to his career at Anfield, scoring 14 times in his first 18 Premier League appearances and 20 goals in his first 26 games overall, equalling Daniel Sturridge's record.

The only reason why Mahrez won the award a year ago was because of what he did with Leicester.

The African Football Confederation cut the original 11-man shortlist down to three with Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango amongst the initial nominees.

Elsewhere, Nigeria is well represented across the categories, with reigning CAF African Women's Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala again in line to retain her crown, and Gernot Rohr among the three Coach of the Year finalists.

The winners will be announced during the Aiteo CAF 2017 Awards gala, on 4 January in Accra, Ghana after a collation of votes from Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations and ten members from the Independent Media and TV Consultants group.

The German will slug it with Argentine and Egypt's coach Hector Cuper and Wydad Casablanca's L'Hussein Amoutta.

Egypt entered the final list next to Cameroon and Nigeria.

The eventual victor of the award will be announced in Accra, Ghana on January 4, 2018 at the AITEO CAF awards.

Like this: