Published: Mon, December 04, 2017
Research | By Raquel Erickson

WhatsApp Latest Update will Let Group Admins Stop Other Members From Posting

WhatsApp Latest Update will Let Group Admins Stop Other Members From Posting

Facebook-owned messaging application WhatsApp has been coming up with innovative ideas and features to facilitate the users and their daily requirements while communicating with others through the platform. It is known for its streamlined group chat implementation.

This new feature allows only the group administrators disable the chat for all the non-administrators from the group. In other words, the group administrator will be able to restrict other members from sending any kind of message either text or multimedia. This can be useful when group admins wish to make an announcement or discuss something important. They only have only option, that is to use the "Message Admin" button to be able to further post a message or share media to the group.

Admins, meanwhile, will be able to continue chatting as normal; everyone else will have to read their messages in silence. WhatsApp has over 1.2 billion monthly active users and is available in more than 50 different languages around the world, including 10 Indian languages.

- In a restricted group, the user will have to message the admin, which will then have the power to approve messages; that is, the messages will be moderated.


According to WABetInfo, WhatsApp has submitted the "Restricted Groups" setting via Google Play Programme in version 2.17.430. He will be able to send messages, videos, photographs, Gif's, documents, and voice messages.

Moreover, WhatsApp has a wide range of enhanced and improved features, bug fixes and general up gradations.

Though the brand new feature is at present supported by Android and iOS beta, WhatsApp has disabled it on its servers. Although many features see the light of the day, many others don't. It has also been spotted in WhatsApp for iOS, however, this feature is now disabled by WhatsApp, hence, you will only be to able to use it when WhatsApp flips a switch from their servers for you, or, when it rolls out this feature to all.

Like this: