Published: Tue, April 17, 2018
IT | By Lester Massey

Gmail's new confidentiality features improve email security

Gmail's new confidentiality features improve email security

The new feature will display a pop up that will allow users to set a date for when they want the email to "self destruct". The letters will also be thinner. There is also an option to have your sidebar on the opposite side of your email, which will allow users to use Google Keep or Google Calendar on the Gmail platform.

As seen in the screenshot shared by the report, the email after a specified time becomes unreadable.

Google is reportedly testing a self-destructing option for emails as part of its upcoming Gmail redesign. Due to a notice delivered prematurely to G Suite users, Google itself tipped the existence of the redesigned Gmail interface. It's likely that the Confidential Mode will be available along with Smart Reply and Snooze features when it starts to roll out.

Google is providing three new layouts to choose from, including a default view that highlights attachments like documents and photos, a comfortable view that doesn't highlight attachments, and a compact view that increases the amount of messages you can see on a single page.


So far, the only potential answer is a link with the message, "This message was sent with Gmail's confidential mode" the sent email reads. Google uses machine learning to tune Smart Reply's suggestions to your writing style, so the more you use it, the more useful it gets. While confidential mode emails will disappear when you want them to, there's not guarantee that they are secure. Snooze can also bring the email back when you're at a specific location, which is useful for setting aside personal email for when you get home from work.

Of course, compatibility may be an issue here - particularly as receivers are asked to confirm their Google accounts in order to open confidential mode emails. An email can be locked which prevents the recipient from copying, forwarding, downloading or printing it. Emails can also be tagged and eliminated from both the recipient's inbox and the sender's sent list after a specified time period.

In times when privacy and confidentiality seem to be at risk, this new confidential mode could be a huge success among Gmail users.

Like this: