Published: Mon, April 16, 2018
Worldwide | By Isabel Fisher

IEBC Scatter as Three Commissioners Resign at Once

IEBC Scatter as Three Commissioners Resign at Once

Apparently, their resignation means that Chebukati has been left with only two commissioners, Prof.

Tumult continues at Kenya's independent electoral commission (IEBC) almost seven months after elections ended.

The commissioners were referring to the suspension of Ezra Chiloba, the commission CEO, over "procurement issues" and "misappropriation of funds" during the last general elections that the IEBC chairman wants investigated while Chiloba is away.

The trio, Vice-Chairman Consolata Nkatha, Commissioners Paul Kurgat and Margaret Mwachanya, told a hurriedly-convened press conference in Nairobi that for far too long and way too many times Wafula Chebukati, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chairman, has failed to be the steady and stable hand that steers the ship in hard times and gives directions when needed.

The move to suspend Chiloba's split the commission down the middle with the commissioners who resigned citing lack of confidence in Chebukati.

Avoid fake news! Subscribe to the Standard SMS service and receive factual, verified breaking news as it happens.

"The Commission Chairperson has failed to be the steady and stable hand that steers the ship in hard times and give direction when needed". This race to chase "ghosts" that don't exist needs to stop, The Commissioners must all serve exclusively for the goal that we were appointed.

They faulted Chiloba's removal saying it is a weighty matter that should not have been treated lightly.

"Therefore the events related to the purported vote have already shaken our already feeble confidence in the chair". Given this severe deterioration of confidence in the chair, we find our position as commissioners under his leadership no longer tenable.

The resignation of the three leaves the commission technically dysfunctional with only Chebukati, and Commissioners Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye remaining put.

The current IEBC commissioners were sworn into office in January 2017 and was reduced to six when Roselyn Akombe resigned before the repeat presidential polls.

Like this: