Published: Sat, April 14, 2018
Sport | By Wilson Duncan

Salah, De Bruyne, Kane on PFA shortlist

Salah, De Bruyne, Kane on PFA shortlist

De Gea has enjoyed another excellent campaign for United, and will be hoping to become the first goalkeeper to win the award since Peter Shilton in 1978.

Among the other contenders, Tottenham striker Kane and Man City forward Sane are also on the six-man shortlist for the PFA Player of the Year award.

The Player of the Year shortlist includes, in addition to Kane, Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne, Leroy Sane, and David Silva, Manchester United keeper David De Gea, and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah.

Salah has plundered a sensational 39 goals in just 44 appearances since his summer switch from Roma, while De Bruyne has wowed fans with his scintillating and consistent displays for Pep Guardiola's Premier League leaders this term.

Sané is also up for the PFA Young Player of the Year award, one of three Manchester City players on the shortlist with Raheem Sterling and Ederson, who has enjoyed a fine debut year in England. They face competition from Kane, Marcus Rashford and Ryan Sessegnon.

Salah and De Bruyne are the stand-out contenders, with debate raging over which one should collect the award.

The inclusion of Sessegnon is something of a shock, with the 17-year-old playing in the Championship.

De Bruyne and Silva have, literally, been central to City rise to the Premier League summit this season.

To be eligible for the award, players must be 23 or under at the beginning of the season.

The victor will be announced at the PFA's annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 22.

Like this: