Published: Tue, May 15, 2018
Sport | By Wilson Duncan

Russian Federation 2018: Rohr releases 30-man provisional list

Russian Federation 2018: Rohr releases 30-man provisional list

"The coaches have done their work and are putting finishing touches to the provisional list from which our final squad for the World Cup will be released".

The list includes Captain Mikel John Obi, goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders Abdullahi Shehu, Elderson Echiejile and Leon Balogun, as well as midfielders Ogenyi Onazi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards Ahmed Musa and Victor Moses.

Meanwhile, Nigeria Professional Football League's highest goal scorer in the current season, Junior Lokosa, has been given the opportunity to stake a claim to a spot on the Russia-bound team after he was included in the 30-man list.

"I think the list is okay".

There is, however, no place in the squad for recuperating Henry Onyekuru, whilst Brown Ideye misses out on the World Cup for the second consecutive time after being dropped prior to the 2014 edition.

The list, which consists of 4 goalkeepers, 10 defenders, 8 midfielders and 8 attackers, also includes Enyimba FC goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Deportivo La Coruna's shot stopper Francis Uzoho.

The team's training camp will run from 22 May until 11 June.

"There were really no major surprises in the list as the country's biggest goal contributors namely; Ahmed Musa, Victor Moses and Kelechi Iheanacho are destined for Russian Federation". I can't wait for the tournament to start already.

"For me, the list is not bad, but I feel our goalkeeping and defence department are weak and how Rohr sets up the midfield will be crucial". The coach needs to manage the players available to get the best out of them. The Nigerian team will play Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) in Port Harcourt on May 25, after which the final 23-man squad will be announced.

Like this: