Published: Sun, September 16, 2018
Sport | By Wilson Duncan

A few former Dolphins nominated for 2019 Hall of Fame class

A few former Dolphins nominated for 2019 Hall of Fame class

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced Thursday that 102 former players and coaches have been nominated for the 2019 class.

There are four first-year eligible players among the nominees: tight end Tony Gonzalez, linebacker London Fletcher, cornerback Champ Bailey and safety Ed Reed.

He finished his career with the most career receptions (1,325), receiving yards (15,127) and 100-yard receiving games (31) by a tight end in National Football League history, and the second-most touchdown receptions (111) behind only the Los Angeles Chargers' Antonio Gates (114). He made six All-Pro teams and was a member of the all-decade team for 2000-10.

Sharpe had 169 career receptions, 2,497 receiving yards and 17 career touchdowns. The first Latino head coach to ever win a Super Bowl took over in 1979 and helped lead the Raiders to two championships in the early 80s.

Bailey began his career with Washington in 1999 as the seventh overall draft choice. Among those coaches are Super Bowl champions Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson and Dick Vermeil. Senior Finalist Johnny Robinson, who spent his entire career with the Texans/Chiefs franchise from 1960-71, and Contributor Finalists Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt will also be included in the voting. The list of 102 will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and to 15 finalists in January, with the Class of 2019 to be elected by the Hall's Selection Committee in February and formally enshrined in Canton, Ohio next August.

For the eighth consecutive year, fans can vote for their favorite Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees.

Like this: