Published: Sat, November 10, 2018
IT | By Lester Massey

Google Chrome to Warn You About Shady Subscription Pages

Google Chrome to Warn You About Shady Subscription Pages

It was just previous year that Google brought to the market a set of tools that helps prevent issues such as unwanted tabs, automatic redirection, and click areas that capture data.

Google is going to release Chrome 71 in the next month (December) and there is a new feature added in it through which your browser will warn you about sites that might try and bill you without your full knowledge or consent. If you too gate the random pop ups or maybe those fake warnings for system error when visiting a website, Chrome is now your best friend.

Visitors will be offered the choice to proceed anyway after seeing the above warning or go back to the previous page.


That is, conditions and prices should be clearly itemized and communicated to the user and not hidden by the method of placement of the gray text on a light background or in small print somewhere in the end of the page. This fee gets attached to your mobile phone bill, so it can be easy to miss - and hard to get your money back if you do. Ensure that the information is visible on all types of devices. Further, fee structures must be displayed in a manner that is easy to understand.

Google has outlined new mobile billing charges best practices, which pages will have to abide by in order to prevent Chrome from showing warnings. For example, Chrome 70 will have different warning interstitials than Chrome 71. The search giant will be punishing websites with "abusive advertisements" by not blocking them but by hiding all the ads. For example, a gaming website that asks users for their phone details, and the next month's phone bill arrives with subscription charges to the online gaming service that they didn't really subscribe to. So website owners who have registered their site through the Google Search Console service should visit their dashboards to see whether the mobile subscription forms on their sites trigger this warning.

Like this: