Published: Thu, January 10, 2019
Sport | By Wilson Duncan

Azharuddin on India's first Test series win in Australia

Azharuddin on India's first Test series win in Australia

Australia's tour of India will begin with a T20I on February 24 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has confirmed the schedule for the fixtures that starts with the T20I series followed by the ODI series. The shortest-format games will begin at 7 pm (IST) while the 50-over-format games will begin at 1.30 pm (IST).

This will be followed by five ODI matches, first of which will be played on March 2 in Hyderabad. Nagpur will host the second ODI on March 5 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium.

After the conclusion of the series, India would play New Zealand in a T20I and ODI series that starts on the third week of January. The venues for the last two ODIs are Mohali and Delhi.

India toured South Africa and England in 2018 but lost Test series in both countries. The squads for the T20I series are yet to be announced by both the sides. Even as Kohli's men won the ODI series 4-1, the visitors managed to tie the T20I series with victories in Bangalore and Guwahati respectively. They would again lock horns with the Aussies, this time in a home T20I and ODI series from the last week of February. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who was the joint highest wicket taker in the Test series with 21 wickets, has been rested for the ODIs.

It was bright and sunny on Wednesday as the likes of MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav, and Ambati Rayudu sweated it out at an optional training session with batting coach Sanjay Bangar, but they had to change their plans on Thursday.

Like this: