Published: Sun, February 10, 2019
IT | By Lester Massey

Fortnite: how to merge accounts

Fortnite: how to merge accounts

While Fortnite players who played across multiple systems previously needed to have a separate account in order to do so, Epic is now allowing players to merge accounts, allowing them to use the same one across multiple platforms.

Merging accounts will transfer your V-Bucks and cosmetic items from Battle Royale.

The process is actually very simple.

Transfers to your new primary account will take around two weeks, which will cause a short period in which you might have to play with default skins, but it's a small price to pay to avoid having to play with the word "Switch" appended to the end of your usual online gamer name. You'll then need to pick a secondary account that will be instantly linked to your console login.

With a little patience, however, you could soon have all of your Fortnite victories housed in a single, unified account that can be used on every platform.

Wait 2 weeks for items to arrive in the primary account.


Of course, there are some caveats involved.

Most importantly, one of the accounts must have been used to play Fortnite on Xbox One or Nintendo Switch and the other on PS4.

If you have duplicate 3rd party login like Facebook on both your Primary and Secondary account, the Secondary login will be unlinked.

"You'll need access to all email addresses that are associated with accounts you wish to merge".

Accounts can not not be banned or disabled. So it might be best to stick with the account that's played that the most. Head to the Epic Games site to read the complete breakdown of what will happen, what will be kept, and what will be lost.

Players should be able to find the new merge account options on the official Epic Games.com website, under the account merge option, by using this Account Merge link. Log into your main account on the left-hand login section. To be absolutely clear, merging two Fortnite accounts means the primary account will receive transferred inventory items while the secondary account gets deleted. "Other Items such as Unreal Marketplace items, Creative Islands, and Save The World account level and progress will not be merged over from your secondary account".

Like this: