Published: Sat, February 09, 2019
Sport | By Wilson Duncan

India send T20 series to a decider

India send T20 series to a decider

It was the kind of day when nothing went right for India who let New Zealand amass 219 before surrendering meekly in the steep chase. The series is now tied 1-1 with the decider in Hamilton on Sunday.

Hardik spilled a diving catch at long-on to allow Scott Kuggeleijm first ball, but Khaleel bowled Mitchell Santner and Tim Southee to end the innings superbly. Pant hit four boundaries and a six in all.

The flicked six off Kuggeleijn over backward square leg was treat for the eyes but their dismissal along with Vijay Shankar's did create a bit of unrest but Pant ensured that they didn't press the panic button.

"Jimmy's impressed us with the bat this summer, while Colin's proved what he can do with the ball - especially if it is moving around", Larsen said.

Given out lbw to Krunal Pandya on just his second delivery, Mitchell quickly reviewed, indicating to captain Kane Williamson that he had hit the ball.

Around the TV umpire Shaun Haig's controversial decision to send Daryl Mitchell on his way despite HotSpot showing an inside edge, the Blackcaps lost three wickets in nine balls for three runs to Krunal Pandya and after a dazzling 50 from Colin de Grandhomme the hosts were chocked in the back end of their innings.

The Black Caps, who thumped India by 80 runs in the series opener in Wellington, posted 158-8 with Colin de Grandhomme (50 off 28 balls) and Ross Taylor (42 off 36) sharing a fifth-wicket stand of 77 and Krunal bagging 3-28, Kane Williamson and Colin Munro his other scalps.

It was a much-improved performance by the Indian bowlers with Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1/29 in 4 overs) removing Tim Seifert (12) in the very third over with a fuller delivery, inducing an inside edge to Mahendra Singh Dhoni behind the stumps.

However, it was Krunal, who really applied the brakes after being brought in inside the Power Play overs.

Earlier in the match, openers Shikhar Dhawan (30) and Rohit Sharma set the game for India with a 79 run partnership for the first wicket before Pant and Dhoni finished it off with an unbeaten 44 run stand for the fourth wicket.

Like this: