Published: Mon, April 08, 2019
IT | By Lester Massey

Windows 10 Relaxes About External Storage Removal

Windows 10 Relaxes About External Storage Removal

The downside to this is that, because Windows now constantly caches in order to ensure there's no data loss, there could be some degradation in performance of the drive - probably imperceptible, but for big transfers, it could feel a bit sluggish. Quick Removal, as the name suggests, allows the user to pull out the USB with all their might, without any trouble. Quick Removal allows you to safely eject a USB drive without fear of losing any data, but the performance of the drive is impacted to allow for this. That makes sense from a technical perspective because the operating system has to make sure processes cached on the device are finished before it's removed.

In what can be considered as a major move by Microsoft in years, the Redmond-based tech firm is now giving users an option to not see the "Safely Remove Hardware" option while pulling out a connected USB storage device.

As Betanews reports, Microsoft offers two policies regarding external storage media: Quick Removal and Better Performance. In past versions of Windows, the default setting was "Better performance", which enabled write caching on external devices, but required the "Safely Remove Hardware" process before ejecting them. The policy set will remain unchanged for the particular USB storage device until you change it. Microsoft is finally addressing this issue with its latest 1809 update of Windows 10.

If you use the "Better performance" policy, you must use the Safely Remove Hardware process to remove the device.


Of course, if you're like me, you have been living life on the edge. pulling USB thumb drives out of Windows PCs, driving 70 miles per hour in a 65 miles per hour zone, and other rebel behavior. To do so, plug in your external drive, then right-click on Start and select Disk Management.

Right-click Start, and then select Disk Management.

Users who prefer to prioritize performance and want to stick with the long-used policy can switch back to the current option, though this must be done for every USB device.

Like this: