Published: Thu, June 13, 2019
IT | By Lester Massey

Google killing the integration between Google Drive and Google Photos

Google killing the integration between Google Drive and Google Photos

At the same time, new photos and videos in Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive.

Google revealed the change in a blog post, saying that it will "simplify the experience across Drive and Photos" when it comes to accessing photos on either platform, as customer feedback has led the company to the conclusion that "the connection between these services is confusing". Google Photos will have a "Upload from Drive" feature to allow for easy importing, but there's no such luck in the opposite direction, which is huge bummer for me and for all Chromebook users.

Once this change takes place, new photos and videos from Google Drive will not automatically appear in Google Photos.

So Google has chose to retire the file syncing on July 10 in order to "prevent accidental" image deletions, Google said in a Wednesday blog post. In short, they confirm changes that were predicted last month following discovery of references to the change in updated APKs - Google Photos and Google Drive will no longer share your photos between them. Previously, users who had images or videos on either Drive or Photos would see them show up in the other, which caused some confusion among users.


But in case you do, Google is bringing more granular control to Photos with a new tool called Upload from Drive. "Since photos and videos will no longer sync across both products, items copied in Original Quality will count towards your storage quota in both Drive and Photos", Google notes. Similarly, items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive. The Backup and Sync feature on Windows and macOS can still be used to upload to both of them in High Quality or Original Quality.

These changes will take effect this July and have been made to ensure that there are no duplicate photos in both services.

The Google Photos folder within Drive will no longer automatically sync with Google Photos.

Like this: