Published: Thu, June 13, 2019
Sport | By Wilson Duncan

Louis beats Boston 4-1 in Game 7 to win Stanley Cup

Louis beats Boston 4-1 in Game 7 to win Stanley Cup

With alumni like Bob Plager, Brett Hull, Keith Tkachuk, Barret Jackman and Chris Pronger in tow to witness it, along with Laila Anderson, the Blues became the first team since the 1935 Montreal Maroons to win the Stanley Cup with a losing record at home (6-7 playoff record at Enterprise Center this season). Following an uneventful second period, Brayden Schenn and Zach Sanford added insurance goals in the third.

So much of that can be traced back to Berube's changes when he took over as interim coach for Mike Yeo in November. But despite their efforts, Game 7 belonged to Jordan Binnington.

The Bruins tried to harness all the local karma they could. They're the first predominantly overall blue team to win since the 1994 New York Rangers.

Blues forward Ryan O'Reilly, set a franchise record with the most points in one playoff year with 23, was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most valuable player of the playoffs.

Binnington came out of nowhere to lead St. Louis to the Stanley Cup.

O'Reilly became the third player in National Hockey League history to score his team's opening goal in four consecutive games during the Stanley Cup Final, matching Sid Smith (1951) and Norm Ullman (1966).

Bruce Cassidy doesn't care about legacy and isn't all caught up in the hype surrounding the Stanley Cup Final. With just two minutes remaining, Matt Grzelcyk managed to score Boston's lone goal.

Like this: